University of York Students' Union (YUSU)

York Sport Committee


The York Sport Committee is a group of student volunteers who have a strong interest and passion for sport at York.

The committee is chaired by the current York Sport President and meet on a weekly basis to discuss all York Sport Union matters, events and projects.

As well as tasks associated with each individual role, the committee work together to organise major events throughout the year, such as: College Varsity, Colours Ball, Equal Opportunities workshops and Roses to ensure they are a huge success. The committee are also responsible for deciding on the allocation of contingency grant to clubs, voting on new legislation and giving their opinions on various upcoming sport-related projects, such as the new sports hall in the York Sport Centre.

The 207/18 York Sport Committee are:

York Sport President - Laura Carruthers
Communications Officer - Cait Hynes
Treasurer - Ryan Jago
Tournament Secretary - Matilda Silvestro
Tournament Secretary - Sophie Ellis
Tournament Secretary - Phoebe Llanwarne
Equal Opportunities Officer - Nathan Costin
Fundraising & Events Officer - Nisha Desai
College Sport Officer - Zac Sheppard


  • Being part of the York Sport Committee is an invaluable experience to gain an insight and a genuine opportunity to impact how the York Sport Union is run.

  • You gain a wide range of employable skills, such as communication, leadership and event management, that are invaluable for future job applications and perfect for adding on your CV!

  • If nothing else, you become friends with a fantastic group of like-minded, enthusiastic, passionate individuals who are striving to make a positive impact on the sporting experience at York.


  • Applications open in term 3. More information coming soon.


Communications Officer
Tournament Secretary x3
Equal Opportunities Officer
Fundraising & Events Officer
College Sport Officer