University of York Students' Union (YUSU)

Our Staff

If you have a general enquiry contact enquiries@yusu.org

For more specific enquires please contact the relevant member of staff listed below.


Senior Management Team

Ben Vulliamy
CEO
b.vulliamy@yusu.org

Cate Tracey
Director of Finance & Resources
c.tracey@yusu.org
Gemma Vessey
Communication and Activities Director
g.vessey@yusu.org

Laurie Smith
Commercial Opperations Director
l.smith@yusu.org

Rachel Barber
Student Support and Representation Director
r.barber@yusu.org

 

Communication and Activities Directorate

Gemma Vessey
Communication and Activities Director
g.vessey@yusu.org

Liam McDaid 
IT Development Co-ordinator
l.mcdaid@yusu.org

Geoff Ward
Interm Health & Safety Development Co-ordinator
g.ward@yusu.org

Harriet Patten-Chatfield
Research and Communication Co-ordinator

h.patten-chatfield@yusu.org 

Tom Wells
Graphic Designer
t.wells@yusu.org

Megan Donaldson Hughes
Events Co-ordinator

m.hughes@yusu.org

Thomas Heap
Marketing Co-ordinator
t.heap@yusu.org

 

Annie Potter
Opportunities Manager
a.potter@yusu.org

Tatenda Shonhiwa
Sports Co-ordinator

t.shonhiwa@yusu.org

James Dix
Student Opportunities Development Co-ordinator (Societies, Student Media & Development)​
j.dix@yusu.org

Vacant
College Sport Assistant
collegesportassistant@yusu.org

Elina Kukk
Student Opportunities Engagement Assistant
studentoppsassistant@yusu.org

Vacant
BUCS & Sports Assistant
sportsassistant@yusu.org


Student Support and Representation Directorate

Rachel Barber
Student Support and Representation Director
r.barber@yusu.org

Richard Andrew
Advice and Welfare Manager
r.andrew@yusu.org

Louise Parsons
Academic and Welfare Development                  
Co-ordinator

l.parsons@yusu.org

Susie Gridley
Academic and Welfare Development                  
Co-ordinator

s.gridley@yusu.org

Stephanie Pearson
Communities Manager
s.pearson@yusu.org

Elisa Adams
Communities Coordinator
e.adams@yusu.org

Jack Palmer
Democracy & Campaigns Co-ordinator

j.palmer@yusu.org

Kimi Smith
Student Engagement Development                  
Co-ordinator

k.smith@yusu.org

Gabby Morgan
Student Engagement Co-ordinator
gabby.morgan@yusu.org

Nick Glover
Student Voice and Insight Manager
n.glover@yusu.org

vacant
Student Opportunities Co-ordinator (Volunteering & RAG)​

 

 

Finance & Resources Directorate

Cate Tracey
Director of Finance & Resources
c.tracey@yusu.org

Connor Briggs
Student Training Development Co-ordinator
c.briggs@yusu.org

Szczepan Swiatkowski
HR and Admin Manager
s.swiatkowski@yusu.org

Kelly Richards D'arcy-reed
Helpdesk Supervisor
mhelpdesksupervisor@yusu.org

Pauline Barrow
Finance Controller
p.barrow@yusu.org

Lisa Harris
Finance Assistant

l.harris@yusu.org

Carmen Jerrold
Finance Administrator
c.jerrold@yusu.org

Claire Flanagan
Finance Assistant (Purchase Ledger)
c.flanagan@yusu.org

Sarah O'Brien
Management Accountant
s.obrien@yusu.org 

 

Commercial Services

Laurie Smith
Commercial Opperations Director
l.smith@yusu.org

Kevin Dixon
Catering Manager
k.dixon@yusu.org

Sebastian Scarbrough
Bars & Entertainment Manager
s.scarbrough@yusu.org

Max Camara
Courtyard Venue Manager
m.camara@yusu.org

Mitchell Salter
YUSU Shop Co-Manager
m.sallter@yusu.org

Dan Bowley
Kitchen @ Alcuin Manager
d.bowley@yusu.org

Daniel Stringer
Glasshouse Venue Manager
d.stringer@yusu.org

 

Jack Warriner
Glasshouse Catering
j.warriner@yusu.org

Samantha Dixon
CS Administrative Assistant
s.dixon@yusu.org

David Bolwell
Intern Manager

d.bolwell@yusu.org

Emily Palmer
Intern Manager

e.palmer@yusu.org
   

 

Trustee Board

In 2011 YUSU set up its first ever charity-law compliant trustee board, in line with our application for charity status with the UK Charities Commission. A trustee board is designed as a tool of governance, to bring internal knowledge and external experience together to provide an overarching body which can consult and assist the Union’s management, and to make decisions at a strategic level.

YUSU is currently an unincorporated charity. Our Trustee Board includes all five full time sabbatical Officers (with the President of YUSU being the Chair of the Trustee Board),3 student trustees and 3 External Trustees.

Our current trustees

James Durcan - Chair of Trustees / Union President
Fin Judge - Sabbatical Trustee / Activities Officer
Zac Sheppard - Sabbatical Trustee / York Sport Union President
Steph Hayle - Sabbatical Trustee / Community & Wellbeing Officer
James Hare - Sabbatical Trustee / Academic Officer

Christian Stickels - Student Trustee
Robin Brabham - Student Trustee
Maryam Taher - Student Trustee

Songtao Who - External Trustee
Jamie Sims - External Trustee
Ingrid Jenner - External Trustee