University of York Students' Union (YUSU)

Our Staff

If you have a general enquiry contact

For more specific enquires please contact the relevant member of staff listed below.

Senior Management Team

Ben Vulliamy

Cate Tracey
Director of Finance & Resources
Gemma Vessey
Communication and Activities Director

Laurie Smith
Commercial Opperations Director

Rachel Barber
Student Support and Representation Director


Communication and Activities Directorate

Gemma Vessey
Communication and Activities Director

Liam McDaid 
IT Development Co-ordinator

Geoff Ward
Interm Health & Safety Development Co-ordinator

Harriet Patten-Chatfield
Research and Communication Co-ordinator 

Tom Wells
Graphic Designer

Megan Donaldson Hughes
Events Co-ordinator

Thomas Heap
Marketing Co-ordinator


Annie Potter
Opportunities Manager

Tatenda Shonhiwa
Sports Co-ordinator

James Dix
Student Opportunities Development Co-ordinator (Societies, Student Media & Development)​

College Sport Assistant

Elina Kukk
Student Opportunities Engagement Assistant

BUCS & Sports Assistant

Student Support and Representation Directorate

Rachel Barber
Student Support and Representation Director

Richard Andrew
Advice and Welfare Manager

Louise Parsons
Academic and Welfare Development                  

Susie Gridley
Academic and Welfare Development                  

Stephanie Pearson
Communities Manager

Elisa Adams
Communities Coordinator

Jack Palmer
Democracy & Campaigns Co-ordinator

Kimi Smith
Student Engagement Development                  

Gabby Morgan
Student Engagement Co-ordinator

Nick Glover
Student Voice and Insight Manager

Student Opportunities Co-ordinator (Volunteering & RAG)​



Finance & Resources Directorate

Cate Tracey
Director of Finance & Resources

Connor Briggs
Student Training Development Co-ordinator

Szczepan Swiatkowski
HR and Admin Manager

Kelly Richards D'arcy-reed
Helpdesk Supervisor

Pauline Barrow
Finance Controller

Lisa Harris
Finance Assistant

Carmen Jerrold
Finance Administrator

Claire Flanagan
Finance Assistant (Purchase Ledger)

Sarah O'Brien
Management Accountant 


Commercial Services

Laurie Smith
Commercial Opperations Director

Kevin Dixon
Catering Manager

Sebastian Scarbrough
Bars & Entertainment Manager

Max Camara
Courtyard Venue Manager

Mitchell Salter
YUSU Shop Co-Manager

Dan Bowley
Kitchen @ Alcuin Manager

Daniel Stringer
Glasshouse Venue Manager


Jack Warriner
Glasshouse Catering

Samantha Dixon
CS Administrative Assistant

David Bolwell
Intern Manager

Emily Palmer
Intern Manager


Trustee Board

In 2011 YUSU set up its first ever charity-law compliant trustee board, in line with our application for charity status with the UK Charities Commission. A trustee board is designed as a tool of governance, to bring internal knowledge and external experience together to provide an overarching body which can consult and assist the Union’s management, and to make decisions at a strategic level.

YUSU is currently an unincorporated charity. Our Trustee Board includes all five full time sabbatical Officers (with the President of YUSU being the Chair of the Trustee Board),3 student trustees and 3 External Trustees.

Our current trustees

James Durcan - Chair of Trustees / Union President
Fin Judge - Sabbatical Trustee / Activities Officer
Zac Sheppard - Sabbatical Trustee / York Sport Union President
Steph Hayle - Sabbatical Trustee / Community & Wellbeing Officer
James Hare - Sabbatical Trustee / Academic Officer

Christian Stickels - Student Trustee
Robin Brabham - Student Trustee
Maryam Taher - Student Trustee

Songtao Who - External Trustee
Jamie Sims - External Trustee
Ingrid Jenner - External Trustee