Our Staff

If you have a general enquiry contact enquiries@yusu.org

For more specific enquires please contact the relevant member of staff listed below.


Communication and Activities Directorate

Gemma Vessey
Communication and Activities Director
g.vessey@yusu.org

Liam McDaid 
IT Co-ordinator
l.mcdaid@yusu.org

Geoff Ward
Doorsafe 
g.ward@yusu.org

Recruting
Research and Communication Cooridnator

 

Tom Wells
Graphic Designer
t.wells@yusu.org

George Morgan
Events Co-ordinator
g.morgan@yusu.org

Thomas Heap
Marketing Co-ordinator
t.heap@yusu.org

 

Student Opportunities

Annie Potter
Opportunities Manager
a.potter@yusu.org

Luke Green
Sports Co-ordinator
l.green@yusu.org

James Dix
Student Opportunities Development Co-ordinator (Societies, Student Media & Development)​
j.dix@yusu.org

James Durcan
College Sport Assistant
collegesportassistant@yusu.org

Elina Kukk
Student Opportunities Engagement Assistant
studentoppsassistant@yusu.org

Zac Sheppard
BUCS & Sports Assistant
sportsassistant@yusu.org

Anu Priya 
Student Opportunities Co-ordinator (Volunteering & RAG)​

a.priya@yusu.org

 

Student Support and Representation Directorate

Rachel Barber
Student Support and Representation Director
r.barber@yusu.org

Richard Andrew
Advice and Welfare Manager
r.andrew@yusu.org

Louise Parsons
Academic and Welfare Development                  
Co-ordinator

l.parsons@yusu.org

Susie Gridley
Academic and Welfare Development                  
Co-ordinator

s.gridley@yusu.org

Stephanie Pearson
Communities Manager
s.pearson@yusu.org

Recruiting
Community Coordinator

 

Tom Meares
Democracy & Campaigns Co-ordinator
t.meares@yusu.org

Kimi Smith
Student Engagement Development                  
Co-ordinator

k.smith@yusu.org

Gabby Morgan
Student Engagement Co-ordinator
gabby.morgan@yusu.org

Nick Glover
Student Voice and Insight Manager
n.glover@yusu.org


Finance & Resources Directorate

Cate Tracey
Director of Finance & Resources
c.tracey@yusu.org

Chris Morgan
Health & Safety Development Co-ordinator
c.morgan@yusu.org

Szczepan Swiatkowski
HR and Admin Manager
s.swiatkowski@yusu.org

Maddie Boden
Helpdesk Supervisor
m.boden@yusu.org

Pauline Barrow
Finance Controller
p.barrow@yusu.org

Liz Johnson
Finance Administrator
l.johnson@yusu.org

Carmen Jerrold
Finance Administrator
c.jerrold@yusu.org

Emily Smith
Finance Administartor
e.smith@yusu.org

Sarah O'Brien
Management Accountant
s.obrien@yusu.org 

Connor Briggs
Student Training Development Co-ordinator
c.briggs@yusu.org

Claire Flanagan
Finance Assistant (Purchase Ledge)
c.flanagan@yusu.org
 

Commercial Services

Laurie Smith
Commercial Opperations Director
l.smith@yusu.org

Kevin Dixon
Catering Manager
k.dixon@yusu.org

Sebastian Scarbrough
Bars & Entertainment Manager
s.scarbrough@yusu.org

Max Camara
Courtyard Venue Manager
m.camara@yusu.org

Mitchell Salter
YUSU Shop Co-Manager
m.sallter@yusu.org

Dan Bowley
Kitchen @ Alcuin Manager
d.bowley@yusu.org

Daniel Stringer
Glasshouse Venue Manager
d.stringer@yusu.org

Harriet Gibson
YUSU Bars Assistant Manager
h.gibson@yusu.org

Jack Warriner
Glasshouse Catering
j.warriner@yusu.org

Samantha Dixon
CS Administrative Assistant
s.dixon@yusu.org

David Bolwell
Intern Manager

d.bolwell@yusu.org

Emily Palmer
Intern Manager

e.palmer@yusu.org

Josie Bradley
YUSU Shop Co-Manager

j.bradley@yusu.org

 

 

Trustee Board

In 2011 YUSU set up its first ever charity-law compliant trustee board, in line with our application for charity status with the UK Charities Commission. A trustee board is designed as a tool of governance, to bring internal knowledge and external experience together to provide an overarching body which can consult and assist the Union’s management, and to make decisions at a strategic level.

YUSU is currently an unincorporated charity. Our Trustee Board includes all five full time sabbatical Officers (with the President of YUSU being the Chair of the Trustee Board),3 student trustees and 3 External Trustees.

Our current trustees

Alex Urquhart - Chair of Trustees / Union President
Mikey Collinson - Sabbatical Trustee / Activities Officer
Laura Carruthers - Sabbatical Trustee / York Sport Union President
Mia Shantana Chaudhuri-Julyan - Sabbatical Trustee / Community & Wellbeing Officer
Julian Porch - Sabbatical Trustee / Academic Officer

Eran Cohen - Student Trustee
Robin Brabham - Student Trustee
Liz Ogyeni - Student Trustee

Robert Brech - External Trustee
Jamie Sims - External Trustee
Ingrid Jenner - External Trustee