Our Staff

If you have a general enquiry contact enquiries@yusu.org

For more specific enquires please contact the relevant member of staff listed below.


Marketing & Communications

Gemma Vessey
Head of Marketing & Communications
g.vessey@yusu.org

Stephanie Pearson
Research Development Co-ordinator
s.pearson@yusu.org

Geoff Ward
Doorsafe 
g.ward@yusu.org

Liam McDaid 
IT Co-ordinator
l.mcdaid@yusu.org

Tom Wells
Graphic Designer
t.wells@yusu.org

George Morgan
Events Co-ordinator
g.morgan@yusu.org

Thomas Heap
Marketing Co-ordinator
t.heap@yusu.org

 

Student Opportunities

vacant
Head of Student Opportunities
enquiries@yusu.org

Connor Briggs
Student Opportunities Co-ordinator (Colleges & Community Building)
c.briggs@yusu.org

James Dix
Student Opportunities Development Co-ordinator (Societies, Student Media & Development)​
j.dix@yusu.org

Matt Ingram
YuCycle Event Intern
m.ingram@yusu.org

Annie Potter
Sports Development Co-ordinator
a.potter@yusu.org

Dayle Johnson
BUCS & Sports Assistant
sportassistant@yusu.org

Sophie Blyth-Bristow 
Student Opportunities Co-ordinator (Volunteering & RAG)​

s.blyth-bristow@yusu.org

Kerry Douglas
Student Opportunities Engagement Assistant
studentoppsassistant@yusu.org


Representation, Democracy & Advice

Rachel Barber
Head of Representation & Democracy
r.barber@yusu.org

Richard Andrew
Advice and Welfare Manager
r.andrew@yusu.org

Louise Parsons
Academic and Welfare Development                  
Co-ordinator

l.parsons@yusu.org

Susie Gridley
Academic and Welfare Development                  
Co-ordinator

s.gridley@yusu.org

Tom Meares
Democracy & Campaigns Co-ordinator
t.meares@yusu.org

Kimi Smith
Student Engagement Development                  
Co-ordinator

k.smith@yusu.org


Finance & Resources

Cate Tracey
Head of Finance & Resources
c.tracey@yusu.org

Chris Morgan
Health & Safety Development Co-ordinator
c.morgan@yusu.org

Szczepan Swiatkowski
HR and Admin Manager
s.swiatkowski@yusu.org

Harriet Gibson
Helpdesk Supervisor
h.gibson@yusu.org

Pauline Barrow
Finance Controller
p.barrow@yusu.org

Liz Johnson
Finance Administrator
l.johnson@yusu.org

Carmen Jerrold
Finance Administrator
c.jerrold@yusu.org

Christian Pollock
Finance Apprentice
c.pollock@yusu.org

 

Commercial Services

Laurie Smith
Head of Commercial Services
l.smith@yusu.org

Kevin Dixon
Catering Manager
k.dixon@yusu.org

Sebastian Scarbrough
Bars & Entertainment Manager
s.scarbrough@yusu.org

Max Camara
Courtyard Venue Manager
m.camara@yusu.org

Rachel Brown
YUSU Shop Manager
r.brown@yusu.org

Dan Bowley
Kitchen @ Alcuin Manager
d.bowley@yusu.org

Emma Forbes
Kitchen@ Assistant Manager (Intern)
e.forbes@yusu.org

 

 

Trustee Board

In 2011 YUSU set up its first ever charity-law compliant trustee board, in line with our application for charity status with the UK Charities Commission. A trustee board is designed as a tool of governance, to bring internal knowledge and external experience together to provide an overarching body which can consult and assist the Union’s management, and to make decisions at a strategic level.

YUSU is currently an unincorporated charity. Our Trustee Board includes all five full time sabbatical Officers (with the President of YUSU being the Chair of the Trustee Board),3 student trustees and 3 External Trustees.

Our current trustees

Millie Beach - Chair of Trustees / Union President
Alex Lusty - Sabbatical Trustee / Activities Officer
Isaac Beevor - Sabbatical Trustee / York Sport Union President
Dom Smithies - Sabbatical Trustee / Community & Wellbeing Officer
Tamkaki Laycock - Sabbatical Trustee / Academic Officer

Eran Cohen - Student Trustee
Robin Brabham - Student Trustee
Liz Ogyeni - Student Trustee

Robert Brech - External Trustee
Jamie Sims - External Trustee
Ingrid Jenner - External Trustee